The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker of the House H-232, The Capitol Washington DC 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Majority Leader H-329, The Capitol Washington DC 20515 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader S-230, The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John Cornyn Majority Whip S-208, The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

Dear Congressional Leaders:

We, the undersigned, representing hundreds of thousands of Americans, want to thank you for your commitment to preserving the rights secured in the First Amendment of the Constitution, specifically the rights to freedom of religion and speech. Unfortunately, since its passage, the Johnson Amendment has effectively squelched both of those rights in the context of activities that could be construed by the IRS as on behalf of or in opposition to a candidate for public office. That is why we support the Free Speech Fairness Act of 2016 (H.R. 781, S. 264 "Fairness Act"), introduced by Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.) and Representative Jody Hice (R-Ga.), and by Senator James Lankford (R-Okla.) to protect the speech and religious freedom rights of 501(c)(3) organizations and their leaders. We encourage you to prioritize hearings and votes on this important bill.

Under Section 501(c)(3) of the IRS code, tax exempt organizations, including churches, may not engage in any activity that might be interpreted as directly or indirectly participating in a campaign on behalf of or in opposition to a candidate for public office, including handing out literature. The Johnson amendment changed the tax code in 1954 without any debate, and is still restricting the free speech of churches, religious institutions, and other tax exempt organizations today.

Not only is it unconstitutional, but the Johnson Amendment has been inconsistently enforced by the IRS causing many non-profits confusion over how and when they may speak about political issues and candidates. In fact, on numerous occasions, the IRS has initiated investigations of tax exempt organizations without imposing penalties, or has imposed penalties only to later reimburse the fines. These inconsistencies have had the effect of significantly chilling the freedom to believe and speak that is protected by the First Amendment to the Constitution.

For the last decade, many churches have participated in Pulpit Freedom Sunday and have spoken from the pulpit on political matters. They in turn have sent their sermons to the IRS to elicit a response and a court challenge of the Johnson Amendment. The IRS has not investigated these churches but its guidance has not changed and churches are left in limbo. In addition, every year, organizations hostile to religious liberty threaten churches with letters promising to report them to the IRS, which has also contributed to the stifling of speech under the Johnson Amendment.

In order for the free speech rights of pastors and 501(c)(3) leaders to be restored, the Fairness Act provides for limited political activity that 1) is made in the ordinary course of the 501(c)(3) organization's regular and customary activities, so long as those activities carry out the

organization's tax exempt purpose, and 2) does not incur more than de minimis incremental costs. Thus, this legislation provides for speech without allowing tax exempt organizations to purchase political ads for or against a candidate for public office.

Passage of the Fairness Act is necessary to restore the free speech and freedom of religion rights of America's pastors and churches and to remove the role of the IRS in chilling free speech. We urge you to support the Fairness Act.

Sincerely,

Tony Perkins Michael Farris

President, CEO, and General Counsel

Family Research Council Alliance Defending Freedom

Gary L. Bauer Mathew D. Staver, Esq.
President Founder and Chairman
American Values Liberty Counsel

Dan Busby
President
Director of Public Policy
Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability
Liberty Counsel Action

Penny Young Nance
CEO and President
Concerned Women for America LAC
CNP Action, Inc

Jerry A. Johnson, Ph.D.

President and CEO

National Religious Broadcasters

Paul Weber

President and CEO

Family Policy Alliance

David Stevens, MD, MA (Ethics)

CEO

Eunie Smith
President

Christian Medical Association Eagle Forum

Tom McClusky William A. Estrada, Esq.
President Director of Federal Relations
March for Life Action Home School Legal Defense Association

Dr. Ron Crews Ed Randazzo
Executive Director Director Operations
Chaplain Alliance for Religious Liberty Family Heritage Alliance Action

Jonathan Imbody
P. George Tryfiates
Director
Director for Government Affairs

Freedom2Care Association of Christian Schools International

Austin Ruse Mary Anne Mosack
President Executive Director
C-Fam Ascend

C. Preston Noell III

President

Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Joel Grewe

Director

Generation Joshua

Kent Ostrander

Executive Director

The Family Foundation (KY)

Ryan McCann

Executive Director

Indiana Family Action

John Helmberger

CEO

Minnesota Family Council

Carroll Conley

Executive Director

Christian Civic League of Maine

Allen Whitt

President

Family Policy Council &

Family Policy Institute

Eva Andrade

President

Hawaii Family Forum

John L. Rustin

President

NC Family Policy Council

Jason J. McGuire

Executive Director

New Yorkers for Constitutional Freedoms

Karen England

Executive Director

Nevada Family Alliance

Nicole Theis

President

Delaware Family Policy Council

Debbie Chaves

Executive Director

Colorado Family Action

Cole Muzio

President and Executive Director

Family Policy Alliance of Georgia

Julaine K. Appling

President

Wisconsin Family Action

Len Deo

Founder and President

New Jersey Family Policy Council

Jonathan Saenz

President

Texas Values

David E. Smith

Executive Director

Illinois Family Institute

Jim Minnery

President

Alaska Family Action

Cathi Herrod, Esq.

President

Center for Arizona Policy

David Fowler

President

Family Action of Tennessee, Inc.

Joe Ortwerth

Executive Director

Missouri Family Policy Council

Jerry Cox

President

Arkansas Family Council

John Stemberger

President

Florida Family Policy Council

Mark Jorritsma President and Executive Director Family Policy Alliance of North Dakota Shannon McGinley Executive Director Cornerstone Action (NH)

Gene Mills President Louisiana Family Forum